National Quality Standard

The National Quality Standard sets a national benchmark for the quality of education and care services. Services covered under the National Quality Framework are assessed and rated against the National Quality Standard.

The National Quality Standard aims to promote:

  • safety, health and wellbeing of children
  • a focus on achieving outcomes for children through high-quality educational programs
  • greater understanding by services and families about what distinguishes a quality service.

The National Quality Standard comprises of 7 quality areas, these areas consist of forty elements organised into fifteen standards. The standards are high level outcome statements. Under each standard sit elements that describe the outcomes that contribute to the standard being achieved.

Two five-year-olds are animatedly talking to an educator while they play dress-ups

At Ocean Reef Primary School, the standards are reviewed annually by the staff.

Quality areas, standards and elements


Quality Area 1  QUALITY AREA 1 –Educational program and practice

 Quality Area 2 QUALITY AREA – Children’s health and safety  MEETING THE STANDARD
 Quality Area 3 QUALITY AREA 3 – Physical environment  MEETING THE STANDARD
 Quality Area 4 QUALITY AREA 4 – Staffing arrangements  MEETING THE STANDARD
 Quality Area 5 QUALITY AREA 5 – Relationships with children  MEETING THE STANDARD
 Quality Area 6 QUALITY AREA 6 – Collaborative partnership
with families and communities
 Quality Area 7 QUALITY AREA 7 – Governance and Leadership  MEETING THE STANDARD